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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS & ANSWERS 

• Q. If I have just moved to Madison County, may I apply for a state pistol permit to 
carry a concealed weapon?  
A. Yes. 

• Q. Is it necessary for me to obtain a pistol license before I purchase or own a pistol?  
A. No.  

• Q. Where do I apply for an Alabama state pistol permit?  
A. You may obtain an application online at sheriff.madisoncountyal.gov/pistol.html, in 
the Madison County Courthouse, Room 206, Madison County Courthouse. In addition, 
applications may also be obtained at our Criminal Investigations Division, 715-A 
Wheeler Ave. All, however, must be presented to the Sheriff's Office, Madison County 
Courthouse, or mailed to the Madison County Sheriff’s Office, Attn: Pistol Permits, 100 
Northside Sq, Rm 206, Huntsville, AL 35801 

• Q. Will I be investigated if I make an application to the Madison County Sheriff’s 
Office for a pistol license?  
A. Yes.  Permit applicants wanting a pistol license must complete an application and the 
Sheriff must do a background check.  

• Q. How long does it take to obtain a pistol license?  
A. If the Sheriff has no knowledge otherwise and/or the background check reflects no 
reason(s) and the applicant is otherwise legally eligible, the Sheriff “shall”  issue the 
permit within  30 days.    

• Q. Who may obtain a pistol license?  
A. Any person over the age of 18, provided they are also eligible under other provisions 
of the law.  Under Alabama law, no person convicted in this state or elsewhere of a 
"crime of violence" may own or possess a pistol. Section 13A-11-72. Crimes of violence 
are defined as murder, manslaughter, rape, assault, robbery, burglary, and kidnapping. No 
person addicted to drugs or habitually intoxicated may own or possess a pistol. Section 
13A-11-72. Any person in violation of Alabama's pistol laws may be arrested and upon 
conviction, subjected to a term of imprisonment of not more than one year and a fine of 
not more than $500, or both. The pistol will be seized and may be forfeited by court 
order.  Other legal restrictions may apply.  Please see 18 USC §922 for more information. 

• Q. What are the age requirements to obtain a pistol license?  
A. Applicants must be 18 or older and meet other provisions of the law.   Please see 18 
USC §922 for more information. 

• Q. Could I be arrested or prosecuted if I give any false information in order to 
obtain a pistol license?  
A. Yes. You may be arrested and prosecuted under Alabama State Code Title 13A-11-70 
thru 84.    



• Q. My felony convictions happened before the Gun Control Act became effective on 
October 22, 1968. Can I obtain a pistol or pistol license?  
A. No. The Gun Control Act states that no one convicted of a felony may possess 
firearms, regardless if the conviction occurred before or after October 22, 1968 

• Q. What do I do after I apply? 
A. Please check the status of your application at http://jail.madisoncountyal.gov/permits/ 

. Once your permit status changes to "Approved", please return to our office in Room 
206 of the Courthouse with a valid Driver's License so we may issue your permit. 

• Q. Can my application be denied? 
A. The Sheriff can deny a permit based upon knowledge the Sheriff has on the history of 

the applicant. 
If the Sheriff has knowledge otherwise, the background check reflects reason(s), or 
the person is otherwise not eligible, the Sheriff must give the applicant written notice 
of denial within 30 days. 

• Q. What happens if I am denied? 
o The applicant has 30 days following the date of denial to appeal the denial to the 

Madison County District Court.  The judge has 30 days to rule on the Notice of 
Denial.  

o If the judge rules in favor of the applicant, the Sheriff “shall” issue the permit.   
o If the judge does not rule in favor of the applicant, the case is closed. 
o All rules regarding revocation of a pistol license still apply. 

• Q. How much does a pistol license cost?  
A. The fee for the permit shall be what is allowed by local act multiplied by the number 
of years the applicant wants the permit to be valid. (Please see above for options on 
length of permit validity) 

o Standard Permit Fees:  $10  PER YEAR 
o Photo ID Permit Fees:  $20 PER YEAR 

 
The cost for renewal is the same as initial issue. 
 

• Q. What forms of payment are accepted?  
A. We accept cash, checks, or money orders. We do not process payments from debit or 
credit cards at this time.  
 

• Q. Does a pistol license have to be renewed?  
A. Yes. The Alabama State Code states that pistol licenses are valid for between one year 
and five years from date of issuance.   

o The applicant may now select the number of years he/she wants the permit to be 
valid  

o Options are between one (1) and five (5) years 



o You may not “add” years once the permit has been purchased. 
o You may not change from a paper permit to a plastic photo id permit once the 

permit has been issued. The decision made upon initial issuance will be valid until 
the expiration of that permit, but may be changed upon renewal of the permit. 
 

• Q. How may I renew my license?  
A. There are currently two options: 

1.  You may come into the Sheriff’s Office in the Madison County Courthouse, 
Room 206 and renew it in person 

2. You may mail your renewal request and payment to: 
Madison County Sheriff’s Office 
Attn: Gun Permits 
100 Northside Sq., Rm 206 
Huntsville, AL 35801 
If you choose to renew by mail, please include the following: 

  a. Photocopy of your driver's license 
b. Photocopy of current permit 
c. Payment for the renewal made out to "Madison County Sheriff" 

There is currently no way to renew online. We apologize for this inconvenience and will 
be working toward that option in the future.   
 

• Q. How much does a renewal cost?  
A. The cost for renewal is the same as initial issue. 
 

• Q. How long do I have to reside in Madison County before I can obtain a pistol 
license?  
A.  No time restricts exist, but you may be required to show proof you live in Madison 
County.   
  

• Q. May a pistol license be revoked?  
A. Yes.    
 

• Q. Is the license valid in other counties?  
A. Yes.   The license is valid within Alabama for all counties.    
 

• Q. Is the license valid in other states?  
A. Alabama has reciprocity agreements with the following states: 



• Alaska 
• Arizona 
• Arkansas 
• Colorado 
• Florida 
• Georgia 
• Idaho 
• Indiana 
• Iowa 
• Kentucky 
• Louisiana 
• Michigan 

 

• Mississippi 
• Missouri 
• New Hampshire 
• North Carolina 
• North Dakota 
• Oklahoma 
• South Dakota 
• Tennessee 
• Texas 
• Utah 
• Wyoming 

• Q. Is my out-of-state permit valid in Alabama? 
A. Alabama now recognizes all other state permits; however that does not mean that all 
other states recognize and reciprocate Alabama permits.  Existing reciprocity agreements 
as provided above still apply.  The license holder must comply with the laws of Alabama 
for carrying and transportation of their firearm. 
 

• Q. If I have a State of Alabama pistol license, may I transport my pistol into another 
state if I go on a vacation or make a business trip?  
A. The license you are issued by the Madison County Sheriff’s Office is valid in the State 
of Alabama. Several states recognize the Alabama license; however, for state specific 
laws concerning the possession and concealment of firearms, it is necessary for you to 
contact authorities in the state in which you plan to travel or visit. 
 

• Q. May I carry my handgun to my employer location? 
• A. An employee may carry a handgun or rifle or shotgun in his/her vehicle onto the 

employer’s parking area without approval of the employer. Please see 18 USC §922 for 
more information. 
   

• Q. Where am I restricted from carrying my weapon? 
• A. A person may not carry a handgun on property not his own without permission of the 

owner OR if posted as a “No Gun Zone” regardless of whether that person has a pistol 
permit or not.  Please see 18 USC §922 for more information. 
 

• Q.  May I carry a pistol in my vehicle in Madison County without a pistol license?  
A. Yes.   A person may carry a handgun in a vehicle unloaded and in a secured, 
mounted container out of reach of the driver or passenger(s) without a permit. 
 

• Q. May I carry my pistol on my person in open view of the public?  
A. Yes. A person may carry a handgun in a holster secured to his or her body exposed 



without a permit in a public place as previously provided for by law.  Certain restrictions 
may apply.  Please see SB 286 for more information. 
 

• Q. What types of locations restrict where I am allowed to carry my firearm?  
A. Please see SB 286 for more information. 
 

• Q. What does this permit allow?   
A. The permit is issued to allow for the individual to carry a handgun concealed on a 
person or in a vehicle. 
 
THE ATTORNEY GENERAL IS THE ONLY ONE WHO CAN HANDLE CLAIMS 
AGAINST GUN MANUFACTURERS AND/OR AMMUNITION MANUFACTURER 
IN ALABAMA WITH CONSENT OF THE GOVERNOR. 
 

THE PERMIT HOLDER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR ADHERING TO STATE AND FEDERAL 
REGULATIONS REGARDING GUN POSSESSION AND PISTOL PERMITS. 
 
THE FOLLOWING MAY BE USED AS SOURCES OF INFORMATION FOR YOUR 
REFERENCE. 

o FEDERAL LAW: 18 USC § 922 
o STATE LAW:  SB286 


