All mechanically propelled (motor) boats are required to be registered. A sailboat must also be registered even if it does not have a motor. Boat registrations may be completed at any Madison County License Department location. Renewals can be mailed in. Your boat registration must be renewed annually.
For detailed information about boating, please click here.
The first letter of your last name determines the month in which your renewal is due.
|Renewal Month||Last Name
|APRIL||F, G, N|
|AUGUST||J, K R|
|SEPTEMBER||Q, S, T|
|OCTOBER||U, V, W, X, Y,Z|
The Alabama Marine Police is responsible for enforcement of all Boating Safety laws as well as the setup and administration of these laws. For detailed information, please visit their web page.
FEESThe length of a boat, in feet and inches, determines the class of boat, as well as the registration fee.
|CLASS||REGISTRATION FEE||MAIL FEE||TOTAL IF MAILED|
(LESS THAN 16 FT)
| CLASS 2
(16 FT TO LESS THAN 26 FT)
| CLASS 3
(26 FT TO LESS THAN 40 FT)
| CLASS 4
(40 FT AND ABOVE )
|TRANSFER/ RENEWAL||$5.75 and CORRECT CLASS FEE|
WHAT IS THE PROCESS FOR REGISTERING MY BOAT?
To Register a new boat (that has never been registered anywhere) or a boat that has been registered in another state and brought into Alabama for registration, an Application for Boat Registration, Transfer and Replacement must be completed. Your out-of-state registration, if available, must be presented with the application.
To transfer a vessel without current registration into a new owner's name and renew registration, an Application for Boat Registration, Transfer and Replacement must be completed. Sales tax will also be collected if applicable.
WILL I NEED TO COMPLETE OR BRING ANY OTHER INFORMATION?
You will need to present a Bill of Sale for the boat. If you do not have a Bill of Sale, you must complete an Affidavit listing the amount you paid for the boat.
Sales tax will also be collected if necessary at the time of transfer.
HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO TRANSFER MY BOAT?There is a 72 hour grace period for the registration of a new boat (a boat without any prior registrations).
If you purchase a used boat that is currently registered with this state, you must make application for transfer within 15 days.
If you purchase a used boat with an expired registration, you MUST currently register the boat before it is used.
THERE IS NO GRACE PERIOD FOR A USED BOAT.
DRIVERS LICENSE FOR BOATS
The Driver’s License for boats is processed at the State Trooper’s office at 1115 Church Street; Huntsville, AL.
For detailed information about driver’s license for boating, click here
WHERE TO PURCHASE BOAT REGISTRATIONS